## **GOLDEN SENIORS AWARD OF MERIT: 1982-2019**

For 38 years, annually until the pandemic canceled the 2020 season, the Golden Seniors Softball Club honored members whose efforts and achievements enhanced the club. The first "Man of the Year" was recognized in 1982 (club pioneer Ted Larson). It evolved to become the Award of Merit in 2007.

Sixty-two members have received the honor.

The apparent oldest living recipient, Bill Turner, was honored in 1991. He turned 100 on April 23, 2000, and last known to be residing at a Sacramento-area assisted living facility. The facility would not confirm whether he is still a resident and the club does not have a family telephone contact.

About 30 recipients have passed away, and are noted below with the + sign. An "R" means the person has relocated or could not be located. A committee of former honorees considers nominees and selects recipients, who are usually recognized at season-ending events. Here is an updated list:

1982 Ted Larson + 1982 Charlie Lee + 1982 Deni Treaster + 1983 Jim Knoble + 1984 Bill Clark + 1985 Frank Bzik + 1986 Al Bianchi + 1987 Leroy Leonard + 1988 Fred Rainey + 1989 Hi Witt + 1990 Wreston Leslie + 1991 Bill Turner 1992 Bud White + 1992 Mel White + 1993 Ken Dumont + 1993 Jack Presley + 1994 Ralph Congdon 1995 Dante Ciardella 1995 Bill Sullivan + 1996 Babe Thomas + 1996 C.B. Brady +

1997 Benny Benson 1998 George Hodsdon 1998 Lou Coppola + 1999 Jim Mulholland + 1999 Earl Strom + 2000 Gean Rockwell + 2000 Ernie Kidwell 2001 Joe Mucciaccio + 2001 Gil Mashburn + 2002 Ken Wollenberg R 2002 Clyde Kennedy + 2003 Jim Lortz 2004 Foster Maxwell + 2005 Ed Campini + 2005 Doug McCreary R 2006 Henry Fontes 2007 Susan Tucker 2007 James Powell Sr. + 2008 Dick Seward 2009 Dave Vargo 2010 Bob Havrilla + 2010 Jim McNamara + 2011 Henry Low R 2011 Tom Sansone

2012 Trudy Smartt 2012 Ron Roach 2013 John Mizerak 2013 Arnie Wilkerson 2014 Don Shank 2014 Pete Ward 2015 Freddie Miller 2015 Cloicec Wade 2016 Bill Hill 2016 Ernie Shaffer 2017 Bob Smartt 2017 Dave Tanner 2018 Bob Nielsen 2018 Deanna Sesso 2018 Don Wall 2019 Rocky Wilkerson 2019 Bob Ellison